Categories
Me

Johari Window

Let’s take a quick look at what Johari Window is…

Framework of Johari Window

Johari Window is a psychological tool designed to help individuals develop a better understanding of themselves and increase self-awareness. It provides visual framework divided into 4 quadrants:

Open Area (public self): How you and others perceive yourself
Blind Spot (unknown self): Others see things in you that you are unaware of
Hidden Area (hidden self): The side of you that others are unable to see or you are unwilling to show
Unknown (unconscious self): Neither you nor others are aware of

To fill in the Johari Window, you can use the list of 56 adjectives as shown below.

Source: Extracted from Lecture 04 Slide 46

Now, let’s explore the 2 Johari Windows that I have completed

Done by my new friend, Joey that know me only for 2 weeks
Done by my close friend, Zhi Ming that know me for 11 years

Is it an accurate representation of myself ?

To a certain extend, yes. There is a factor of time in play where my new friend only knows me for 2 weeks while my close friend know me for 11 years had more time to understand and observe my behaviour. Surprisingly, despite the longer acquaintance, both has the same number of traits in the hidden area (11 traits). The reason behind this could be the way I portray myself. Overall, both windows were quite similar, as elaborated further in the later sections of the blog post. I have listed 26 traits which I believe is what I am, and both windows got 15 of the traits. Thus, to a certain extend, it is an accurate representation of myself.

Am I surprised by my friend’s perception ?

After reviewing the results, I am very surprised. Both friend believe that I possess traits such as being clever, knowledgeable, modest, spontaneous and witty, which I do not associate myself being any of those traits at all. I was particularly surprised by my close friend’s response, as I always considered myself being a sentimental person, but it was not known to him. In addition, I expected my close friend to have a higher number of traits in the open area, as compared to my new friend. The fact that they have the same amount of traits listed in the open area had left me wondering if they truly know me equally.

In addition, when comparing the 2 windows above, both have the same amount of traits listed in each quadrant. It is uncanny! There is also more than 50% similarities in the traits listed when comparing quadrant to quadrant between the 2 windows. The window below depicts the common findings between the two windows.

11 of 15 similar traits listed in open area
5 of 9 similar traits listed in blind spot
6 of 11 similar traits listed in hidden area
17 of 21 similar traits listed in unknown

Traits that both friends agreed on

The takeaway

Using the traits listed in the blind spot, it allows me to gain insights into what others thinks about me that I am unaware of. Understanding their perception of me, it helps to enhance my self-awareness, enabling me to adapt and communicate more effectively. Also, the traits listed in the hidden area may serves a reminder to myself that I lack to express myself in. By showing this hidden aspect of me more, it will help to foster a stronger sense of trust with others. Hence, the results yield from Johari Window is helpful in self-awareness and communication in a team.

Conclusion

To conclude, Johari Window is a great tool for individuals to gain a better understanding of themselves. Knowing both the blind spot and hidden area is helpful for self-awareness and especially helpful in communication within a team. By shrinking your hidden area, it helps to build more trust and by reducing your blind spot, it helps to be more self-aware.

Reference

Mind Tools Content Team, MindTools. Available at: https://www.mindtools.com/au7v71d/the-johari-window (Accessed: 19 July 2023).

Welcome to self awareness (2022a) Welcome to Self Awareness. Available at: https://www.selfawareness.org.uk/2022/09/25/understanding-the-johari-window-model/ (Accessed: 19 July 2023).

10 replies on “Johari Window”

Hi Jit, I like that you use statistics to support your results, the numbers are effective in helping readers to quickly gain insights about your findings.

After reading through your analysis, I am really surprised by your unexpected results! Usually, a close friend would know you better than a new friend but your results proved otherwise. Maybe you are an open book that is easy to read?

I observed that there are a few matching adjectives in the Hidden Area that is not known to both your new and old friend. You mentioned that you are a sentimental person but that side of you is unknown to your close friend, it would be good if you can point out a real-life example to support the sentimental side of you. I am also interested to find out why you view yourself as a quiet person because you did not seem like one over our 2 weeks of acquaintance.

Anyways, it was great knowing you and I had a good laugh during our conversation thanks to your wittiness.

From your 2 weeks old friend,
-Joey

Liked by 1 person

Hello Jit Siong! The inclusion of statistic is a nice touch to the post. It helps to put into perspective not just how similar their views of you were, but that the manner in which you express yourself to them was rather similar too. There are certainly some people who act differently depending on who they are interacting with, so it was interesting to see that their views about you were quite similar instead. As for the words that you were surprised to hear, it’s easy to note that people tend to have different interpretations of the same word. What you might not consider as being clever could come across as clever to others, for one. I really enjoyed reading your post!

Liked by 1 person

Hey Jit, I have been a long time reader of your blog posts due to your simple, engaging, brilliant and easy-to-read writing styles. I found this blog incredibly nice too. You provided a clear and concise explanation for the Johari Window. I agree that the traits in our hidden area can let us know the aspects where we need improvements in expressing ourselves. The open area of my Johari Windows, analysed by my new and old friend, also got almost the same number of traits, just like yours too. From my point of view, I honestly enjoyed how the others see me the same way I see myself. In a nutshell, the inclusion of your example, comparison of matches for the traits that both of your friends had chosen for you, indeed is helpful for my overall understanding of the concept of Johari Windows and its significant parallels. I appreciate your insightful content. See you!

Liked by 1 person

Hi Jit! Really great blog you’ve got here! I definitely enjoy your inclusion of statistics in this blog, it helps to put perspective on the similarity of views between both of your acquaintances. In regards to accuracy, regarding the word you were startled to hear, it’s simple to observe that individuals frequently interpret the same term in a variety of ways. What is “Clever”, knowledgeable, modest, witty, and spontaneous may vary in definition and extremes from person to person. I do agree with you that the Johari window is somewhat an accurate representation of us and how it can be used to be more self-aware of ourselves.

Liked by 1 person

From reading your blog, I see that you have a deep exploration of the Johari Window model!” Your essay effectively explains how different acquaintances see yourself, revealing both known and hidden aspects. Reading about how your new and close friends see you similarly, and how you’re surprised to be seen as intelligent, knowledgeable, and spontaneous, adds depth to your journey of self-awareness. The comparison between the two Windows highlights common features between the quadrants, resulting in valuable insights. Overall, this blog post is a good example of the importance of self-reflection and understanding different perspectives. Thank you very much for your reflection, I have learned a lot

Liked by 1 person

Hello Jit, nice to meet you and your blog posts provides an insightful and reflective analysis of the Johari Window exercise, showcasing your willingness to explore and understand yourself through the lens of perception from your friends. Furthermore, your post highlights the significance of time and familiarity when it comes to how your friends perceive you, as demonstrated by the differences in the perceptions of the new friend and the close friend. The inclusion of the “takeaway” section demonstrates the you are more than willing to learn and grow from the exercise, recognizing that understanding the blind spots and hidden areas can lead to improved self-awareness and communication skills. By acknowledging these aspects and working on expressing them more openly. Besides that, I can see that you aims to build stronger relationships and trust with others. Last but not least, your blog post is amazing as it concise and enjoyable. Keep up the good works!

Liked by 1 person

Hello Jit Song! It is always a pleasure to read your blog. It is truly an eye-opener for me to read them and to be honest, inspires me in many ways.
After reading through your blog, I realised that you used a lot of statistics in your blog which helps the readers to have a better understanding of your analysis.
In addition, I also expected that your close friend that you have been friends with for 11 years should know you better, however, the result shows others wise. In my opinion, maybe it is because different people have different perspectives of the word, maybe you felt that you are a sentimental person, but you did not show it to your close friend, thus he does not feel that way.
All in all, I truly enjoyed reading your blog, thank you for writing such an amazing blog, see you around!

Liked by 1 person

Hi Jit, I definitely agree that conducting Johari Window will open up conversations between members. The members are able to learn more about other’s strengths and weaknesses. Together, the results yielded from the Johari Window will definitely improve the bond formed within the team.
The addition of statistical analysis was definitely a refreshing touch to this topic as well. It is interesting to see the similarities and differences the two models will have. I enjoyed reading your post very much, looking forward to the next!

Liked by 1 person

Hello Jit, I can see from reading your blog that you’ve done a lot of research on the Johari Window model. Your essay clearly illustrates how various acquaintances perceive you, exposing both obvious and covert characteristics. It deepens your journey of self-awareness to read about how your new and close friends perceive you similarly and how you’re astonished to be seen as intellectual, informed, and spontaneous. The two Windows are compared to show off qualities that are shared by all four quadrants, providing insightful information. Overall, your blog post was informative and provided useful details about the Johari Window. I look forward to seeing you in class!

Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment